New Start: Storykeeper

So, here is a new start 😉
It’s Storykeeper by Selina Fenech.
She should look like this when she’s finished:
Storykeeper SK
I’m stitching the storykeep-version for my dear friend Alice (she loves to read and create wonderful stories, so this was made for her!!), but it also comes as a quick stitch and of course, the regular version.

The design is 51×258 stitches, so 13158 little stitches to do.
As always, I bought the large chart pack, so it’s 4 pages, well 3 1/3.
I think the chart asks for 50 colors (no guarantee, you know I’m unable to count).
I’m stitching on 25ct white lugana, my first -and I guess last- try with tent stitch, two over one.

At first I really hated tent. I still don’t like it that much, but I am getting along with it and I think I am going to finish this project in tent.
I don’t really like the coverage of tent and somehow, it feels like cheating 😀

What I dislike even more than tent is Kreinik. It looks fine when it is stitched, but I don’t like working with it. Maybe I should have ordered some of that Threadheavenstuff…. I think Very fine Braid is not fine enough 😉 I would feel better with a thinner thread. I read that it would be a bit thick, but I didn’t think that I would feel so uncomfortable when working with it. Anyway, I’m going to stitch it. And for th next project asking for Kreinik, I plan to try something else.

Götterdämmerung and Siegfried both ask for Kreinik, but both of them only have 10 stitches with it… I think in that case, I would just do it without the sparklethread, I guess no one would really notice it…

But now, here is my first finished page on Storykeeper:

By the way, I’m doing my best to resist that Haed-Sale… But that Map of Middle Earth is amazing and I looks like everyone around me has got that chart… Really tempting 😉

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heli
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 17:25:10

    Beautiful! I have the regular version of this chart on my never-ending to-do list. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Linda
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 19:47:31

    Oh I love the Storykeeper =) And your stitching looks so nice. I am sure your friend will enjoy your gift =)

    I am also concidering the Middle Earth map! It’s such a cool design =)

    Reply

  3. Blu
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 22:36:26

    Lovely start and a lot of progress already!

    Reply

  4. sharine
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 04:24:08

    Very nice new start!

    Reply

  5. Crafty Princess
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 04:41:09

    I have always love this SK. Beautiful work so far, congrats.

    I managed to resist the sale though my WL is beginning to get hefty again LOL!

    Reply

  6. Joyce
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 00:50:59

    This is one of my fave HAEDS, and you’re stitching her up beautifully!! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

