A new start!

Yes, I promised (or something like that) NOT to do this NOW!
I was a bad girl who did not finish the first page on Book End Kitties, but started “Das Rheingold” first.
But I was also a sad girl.
My beloved grandfather died 10 days ago which put me down for the last days. During the last four years I visited him nearly weekly and we where very close. He was ill for the last months and I am happy that he didn’t suffer when he died, but it’s still hard for me.
My boyfriend took care of me the last days and I love him even more for that. I owe a lot to my friends who though of me, they are definitely the best friends in the world =)
I am sorry if I haven’t commented on your blogs, be sure that I read and adore what you do but during the last days I was just unable to keep up with commenting.
Anyway, I felt like starting something new and decided to do so. I spent a lot of time stitching to keep me sane, so you can already see some progress.

But now back to stitching. Here is a piccie how it will hopefully look like in the end:

It’s called “Das Rheingold” by Kinuko Y Craft Arts, one of my favorite Artists =)
I have 3 other charts by her (see my Stash page) and hope to stitch them all one day and I am eying some more of her charts.
I’m stitching it on 25 count ivory Lugana, 1 over 1 full crosses. The chart contains 90 colors and the large version is 64 pages.
Du to the pattern it’s 441×578 stitches, but the edge is not straight so it’s something like 420×578.
The first page is a partial page, only around 3200 stitches, and nearly done:

So far, it’s hard to put it down! I really love stitching it and you can already see the outline of the first letter =)

And here are the Kitties where I left them, not much change since you last saw them. I’ll try to stitch this when I’m done with the first page of Rheingold (I skip the “I promise”-part, it doesn’t work…):

I hope to see you soon with one or two page finishes.
Until then, happy stitching!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ewa
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 21:14:45

    I am so very sorry for your loss, but am glad that you are looking at the positive side of it.Your stitching is beautiful and you’ve got a lot in despite everything. I hope you’re doing better, hugs.

    Reply

  2. dianemi
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 22:42:55

    ((hugs)) I’m so sorry Juel.

    Now as for putting Kitties aside for a bit, I don’t think you were a bad girl at all. Das Rheingold is absolutely stunning. No wonder you couldn’t wait to start it. I’m going to love watching this one grow. 🙂

    Reply

  3. sharine
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 06:12:30

    Sorry for your loss. Your new project will be a stunner when it is finished and your of to a great start!

    Reply

  4. Heli
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 12:49:25

    So sorry to hear about your grandfather. It’s a good thing that you have your boyfriend and your stitching to help you get through this. All the projects you’re working on are beautiful and I love watching them grow.

    Reply

  5. Linda Sjöberg
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 19:34:14

    I am sorry to hear about your loss. I hope you cherish the happy memories when you think of your grandfather.

    I think you made the right desition when you started Das Rheingold instead of continueing with Book End Kitties 😉 New starts are so much fun!

    Many hugs and thougts to you

    Reply

  6. Lena
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 09:23:16

    Erst wollte ich dir eine Standpauke halten, darüber dass du schon wieder ein neues Projekt gestartet hast, aber dann laß ich den Text dazu gelesen (englisch dauert immer ein bisschen länger, da reicht kein flüchtiger Blick) und jetzt komme ich mir leicht doof vor. Mein herzliches Beileid! Ich finde bei dem Tod eines so wichtigen Menschens, darfst du so viele neue Projekte anfangen wie du willst. Und wenn die restlichen Seiten so schnell von der Hand gehen, wie dieses erste Stück, dann bist du in 8 Wochen ja damit fertig.
    Fühl dich gedrückt! Ich denke an dich!

    Beste Grüße,
    Lena

    Reply

  7. caitlin
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 01:35:02

    Gorgeous stitching. I love your new design!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

