Rheingold and Haed-Appreciation-Week

So here is a quick update on my work on Das Rheingold. Oh how I missed this one, the detail is so wonderful and even though it is quite confetti heavy, I love every stitch =)
I tried a new method – parking! i tried this before and create a super-mess with my threads because me, the super-genius, never though of just marking where I parked my thread………. That makes it really easier! ;-D
Linda is quite happy with parking and did a post on it, which I read. There I found the brilliant idea of coloring the square of the chart where I parked my thread! To be exact, I just color the corner of the square where my parked thread comes out of the fabric again ๐Ÿ˜‰
It felt a bit strange at first, but by now I am quite happy with it =) And my chart does now look extraordinary funny ๐Ÿ˜‰
I am not sure if I am so much faster this way, I need to change the thread more often, compared to cross country stitching, but I feel like I am still making more progress. I see the picture develop much faster and that’s wonderful =) And it makes it easier to take a pause, when I start stitching anew, I don’t need to waste time on orientating ๐Ÿ˜‰ So I guess I will continue with this technique =)
Therefor a big THANK YOU to Linda for explaining this technique so well =)
By the way, if you don’t know her blog, head over there, her stitching is wonderful =) She speeding through Spangler’s Train of Dreams and has also other lovely Haeds (Sessler, Thomas, JGB, more Spangler…) on the go!

But now, finally a pic of Rheingold, since it has been such a long time since you saw it, here is a pic how it looked last time, that was in June….

I put in 1000 stitches over the last week

I started working last week =) I’m doing my best to introduce innocent little students-to-be to the arts of math ๐Ÿ˜‰ I must say, it was a brilliant decision to do so, I just love working with them =)
Apart from that I am learning for my exam in October and have other stuff to do, so there is not so much time for stitching =( I will go to Book End Kitties next, I guess I will kind of rotate between the kitties and Rheingold. The next page on BEK is a partial page, just 45 stitches high, so maybe I will be able to stitch it this month so I can catch up with the SAL.
Since I am such a poor and busy girl, I am very happy it HAED Appreciation Week!
Yay for buying a chart! I will maybe maybe maybe buy another one, I am eying Alphabet of Thorns, but I just got one chart today.
But alas, there is a whole week left to decide weather I’ll buy another chart ๐Ÿ˜‰
Here is the one I got today:
raft
Witchcraft by Martha Dahlig
I just fell in love with the purple shade and the design is so powerful =) I just love it’s atmosphere =)

I always linked the pics from the Haed-site, but somehow all my chart-piccies are not showing up anymore. So I will sit down in the next day, collect them all and get the piccies working again ๐Ÿ˜‰ At least on the stash-page, I’m not going through all the posts to change the links ๐Ÿ˜‰

But now I have to go back to work!
Until next time (hopefully end of the week),
happy stitching!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pulltheotherthread
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 13:06:07

    Wow lovely progress. I never thought of marking where I parked my threads like that, though I think that would just confuse me. As I only work in 10×10 blocks I just compare where I have parked with the chart and hope that I have gotten it right ๐Ÿ™‚ Love Witchcraft. I really like Dahlig’s artwork and have quite a few of hers myself though I think this one may have to be added to my Wish list.

    Reply

  2. Linda Sjรถberg
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 18:52:30

    I am so glad that you tried the parking technique! It is so much easier when you mark the threads on the chart and every one finds their own way to park. I totally agree with you how much time one use when cross countrying, wondering which way to go and so on. You don’t have to do that with parking. Just focus on the 10×10 or 20×20 and then park =) Never been a problem for me ๐Ÿ˜‰

    It is nice to see that you have taken out Das Rheingold again =) Such lovely detail and beautiful stitching!

    I already perchased 2 charts: The Astronomer and Treasure Dragon by Pinkney =)

    Take Care!

    Reply

  3. sharine
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 23:57:44

    Great stitching and i love your new chart:)

    Reply

  4. Katy aka tadamama
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 01:40:13

    Beautiful progress! And love the chart you picked out! I need to go and decide which one I’m buying today! I think I’m going to buy a few this week, just spread them out over the week so that it doesn’t seem like as much at once…ha!

    Reply

  5. Joyce
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 23:54:10

    Great Rheingold progress!! Can’t wait to see more of it. ๐Ÿ˜€ Love your new chart as well.

    Good luck with the studies!!!

    Reply

  6. Carla
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 20:03:58

    Great progress!
    Love the new chart you got!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

