IHSW, something like a page finish and a RAK

Well, it’s Monday again =)
Last weekend was, once again, International Hermit and Stitch weekend (click the little crab to the right and you will find allt he relevant information on how to join and best of all, you can see all the people who took part =) )
I didn’t get so much stitching done, somehow the weekend just flew by.

On Friday I decided to make some stollen. For those who don’t know it: This is a traditional German cake. We usually have it around Christmas or Easter. It consists of candied and dried fruits. For dried fruits I took for example raisins (sultana and currant) and for the candied fruits I took orange peel, citron peel and ginger (I candied fresh ginger because I couldn’t get any). I also added some fresh ginger and almonds.
Then you add some tons of spices (cardamon, cinnamon, nutmeg, clove….) and a bit of rum. You train your arm muscles by making all this into a dough similar to the dough you make for bread, then you bake it and after that you cover everything with butter and suger.
I know this is going to be great, but cleaning the kitchen afterward was not so much fun… ๐Ÿ˜‰
The stollen is now wrapped up und needs to rest for 4-6 weeks, so no piccies for now…
On Saturday I went to a craft fair, so half the day was gone. It was somehow not what I expected, I thought that there would be more knitting things (if not stitching things), but most of the things there were for sewers and for jewelry making. There were 2 stitching shops there and they had wonderful things (one had a lot of finished designs from the Dimensions Gold Collection hanging there, they are so beautiful!! I guess I will take out Paris Market again soon ;-D ), but the kits are so expensive in Germany. When they calculate the prize in Euros they exchange $ with a โ‚ฌ and that’s it (sometimes they still set the prize up), so I am thinking twice about buying things in Germany (besides I have so much in my stash……). So apart from a new fabric marker (that is supposed to be extra fine….) I didn’t get any stitching goodies.
But I found some jewelry! I’m totally untalented when it comes to jewelry making, so I was happy to find this wonderful set.It consists of colored glass beads and the kind lady even shorted the bracelet for me:

Saturday evening was also without stitching because boyfriend and I went to a birthday party.
Well, on Sunday boyfriend and I went to his parents house for lunch, so again, half the day was gone.

But now back to stitching:
As I mentioned, I was worried about the dye lots. So I took out some of the 939 from the last column. It was less than 100 stitches, so it was not that bad. My order with 15 skins of 939 has been shipped a week ago, so I will have to wait a few more days until I can restitch the area. I still managed to pit around 1000 stitches in:

You can now see the A very clearly. I’m kind of done with the page, the missing area will be filled with 939 when it arrives. My goal is to stitch one more page on Rheingold this year and this should be possible =)
But my next turn will be on Book End Kitties, we are aiming for a finish! I’m putting it on the frame tonight and hope to be able to get the last stitches in soon. I have already seen so many wonderful finishes. I think I’m going to stay with BEK until it’s done.

And last but not least, I have been RAKed! By amazing Linda. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!! I hope to be able to repay this kindness soon =)
But here is what I got: Trick or Treat by Randal Spangler:

It is great but HUGE! It is 625×890, which means 132 pages in large format. (for those who like this but think it is to big, there is also a smaller version of it available on the site (not a mini) )

But now I am running back to stitching to get some work on BEK done =)

Happy stitching =)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharine
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 23:06:03

    Beautiful stitching and great new chart. The cake sounds yummy:)

    Reply

  2. Joyce
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 23:28:13

    The stollen sounds sooooo yummy!! I can’t wait to see a picture of it. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Rheingold looks great. Hope the 939s get to you soon. YAY on Kitties!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ Can’t wait to see and HD with you!

    Great buy on the jewelry set. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. pulltheotherthread
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 10:58:43

    Great progress, well done. I love the new chart but wow it’s huge!

    Reply

  4. Linda Sjรถberg
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 16:23:41

    I’ll give you an A and you’ll give me some stollen? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    You always have such interesting things to tell ๐Ÿ™‚ The jewellery set looks really nice! One can only wish to have the skills to make such nice things.

    Das Rheingold looks awesome. Your progress is great!hope you’ll get the 393 soon so we can see some more!

    I have been thinking of surprising you with a chart for a while but didn’t have your e-mail, so it took me some planning ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I was so happy to surprise you with a Spangler! :))

    Have a wonderful day!

    Reply

  5. Bea
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 18:08:20

    Your stitching looks great. What a fabulous new chart – aren’t RAKs so much fun? The stollen sounds scrumptuous.

    Reply

  6. Sam
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 09:36:29

    Looking fab! And the RAk is just wonderful! Looking forward to your BEK update! I’ve very nearly done page 3! Are you joining next year’s SAL? I can’t decide!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

