Another page of Rheingold and a give away

Well, as I mentioned, my threads form 123stitch arrived a few days ago. So after winding a skin 939 unto a bobbin I filled in the missing stitches of page 2 on 31st October:

You don’t really see a difference between the 939 I used before and the new one, but I don’t know if oyu would see one in the blocks. So I will continue stitching the blocks with my new 939 and stitch the confetti with the 939 I already had.

Of corse, I continued with Rheingold and stitched the first column (together with the partial column that was just 3 stitches wide) of page 3 and so we have another letter! I really love this! The yellows are so beautiful (I LOVE 726 and 3821/3822 !!!)

I fear I just HAVE to continue with Rheingold for another week. I haven’t prepared the fabric for Yule Angel anyway… Well,Preparing… Cutting the piece and then secure the edges with fray stop… I’m sewing the edges as I go, then and again I’m sewing a bit… But there is gridding! I don’t know if I told you, but I got a new fabric marker at the crafts fair. It is supposed to be super thin and yes, it is, but it’s not so easy to draw with it because it’s very hard. I feel like I’m putting damage to the fabric if I am not very very careful. You can see how “thin” it is in the picture, I re-gridded a third time….

Gridding Rheingold… First time I miscounted when I gridded. I somehow had a 9×9 squareinstead of 10×10. So I actually miscounted both in width and heigh. Not so bad due to block-stitching. But I took a heart and regridded. Second time I miscounted only in width… I had a column that was just 9 stitches wide… And now, I regridded AGAIN. And I miscounted in heigh….. I have a row that is just 9 stitches high and a row that is 11 stitches high…. I think it’s hopeless……………

More pleasant: A give away! Bev from Weestitchy is having a Halloween give away and you can win a year in charts! 12 charts in total, 1 per month! Hurry over, the winner will be drawn on 6th November!

Happy stitching =)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharine
    Nov 04, 2012 @ 05:21:22

    It’s looking great. I have never been to worried about dye lots:)

    Reply

  2. bev
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 17:37:48

    I am always miss counting, i could have the easiest pattern and i would make a mistake, i really need to learn to count! good progress though, well done!, thanks for the link too

    Reply

  3. Pulltheotherthread
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 15:07:26

    Looks great. I love seeing this one progress. Well done.

    Reply

  4. Nina
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 11:58:52

    Rheingold looks great and cannot blame you for carrying on with it 🙂 And no one (except you, we stitchers tend to have symptoms of perfectionism 😉 ) could never tell the difference between an old skein and a new one in dark colours. I’ve had problems with dye lots in paler colours,but solved it with mixing one strand from the old and one strand from the new one. Hope it makes sense…and of course works only, if you’re using two strands.

    Reply

  5. thecraftyprincess25
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 02:54:24

    I know what you mean about gridding. It’s probably the one think I detest about cross stitching. I hope it’s all good now for you. I love those DMC yellows too. It’s cheers me when I get a chance to work with those sunny colours. Rheingold is amazing. All the intricate little background swirls look fantastic. Beautiful work!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

