Eternal Promise – a new start!

Well, I’m not stitching so much these days, I don’t know why and I hope it will change again.I’m currently addicted to knitting socks (don’t know why) and so I have only a little to show. I also don’t feel like blogging these days, I’m forcing myself to make an entry. I hope I will do better on both accounts in the future…

I made a new start at the beginning of this month and it’s Eternal Promise by Matt Stewart. Here is how it will hopefully look like:

The Eternal Promise

And here is what I did so far, some 3600 stitches in (well, this actually gained some 200 stitches lately)

EP1

Well, 3600 is a very small piece of this because the stitch count is 525×843, so 442575 in total. This means 99 pages in large format and I am not even done with page 1! I guess this will keep me busy for a while… This time I am stitching on 28ct Brittney Lugana, I bought the fabric on sale (the price was very low, I usually pay thrice as much for a metre) and it was declared as “light yellow” but I don’t think it looks like yellow.. It’s more like ivory or off-white, so it’s absolutely fine πŸ˜‰ I wish I had bought more of that stuff… This is my first try with 28ct and I really enjoy it. It’s easy to work on, but it took me a be to get used to the smaller count. The stitches are very fine and neat, I would say the coverage is better than on 25ct. But I noticed that I can only stitched for two or three hours before my eyes get tired and stitching very light colors is not that easy. So I can’t say if I prefer this to 25ct.

But I will try and put in a few stitches now. 1400 stitches to go, so I hope I will be able to finish the page this month? Anyway, I’m planning on posting updates more often, maybe my next post will contain some knitting ( I’m waiting for a bunch of yarn to arrive)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alicia
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 03:53:35

    Fantastic Start Stunner! I love this chart and always love seeing it come to life. 28ct does get a bit of getting used to but as you say the coverage is brilliant and the stitches do look neat. I use it on some of my bigger projects and I love stitching on it and use a magnifying lamp so it reduces eye strain, maybe this might help you too. Looking forward to more updates including your knitting. It’s cute that you are addicted to knitting socks, I love them.

    Alicia xo

    Reply

  2. Annie
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 12:17:43

    Beautiful stitching! I, too, am addicted to knitting socks. It really cuts into the stitching time! (or does the stitching cut into the knitting time? πŸ˜‰ So many crafts, so little time!

    Reply

  3. pulltheotherthread
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 11:06:09

    Great start on this chart. I have this one in my stash so looking forward to seeing your progress on it. I hope your stitching and blogging bugs come back soon as I really enjoy reading your posts. I would love to see your knitting too. I hope everything is ok for you, take care πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Amber
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 18:15:11

    Great start I cant wait to see more!! I have this in my stash, as im a massive LOTR geek πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  5. tiathyme
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 03:15:37

    Oh, this is one of my favourite HAEDs ever! I’ve had the chart for years, bit so far I’ve only admired it. You’ve made great progress, looking forward to seeing more. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Precious Crafts
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 14:47:36

    Eternal Promise looks like a scene from LOTR and it’s really enchanting. I hope you’ll get your stitching bug again soon… Happy knitting! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  7. Lonneke
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 09:48:23

    I think this chart is soooo beautiful! You made an excellent start on it.
    My stitching bug left me during all of 2013, but has now returned. happyhappy. I hope yours comes back a lot sooner! (is that a word?)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

