New start!

Well, my blogging mojo is still lost, but at least I am stitching 😉 I mentioned that I made a new start and what could it be but a Lord of the Rings design? 😉

So here is my start on the large version of the Middle Earth map =) I got this chart a while ago and finally got down to starting it. It’s a lot of fun to do because it’s a mix of confetti and block stitchin, but boy, it’s HUGE!

This is the large version and it’s 750×562 stitches, so 421500 stitches in total! I guess this is may be my largest project so far. I’m stitching the large chartversion, so it’s 60 pages. I’m stitching on 25 count DMC Magic Guide, 1over1. This is the first time I’m using magic guide and I really like it. I don’t like to stitch on white fabric, I prefer ivory oder so because it’s easier for my eyes, but the gridding is really useful (and I don’t have to do it myself), so I can live with the white fabric. I always imagined the magic guide to be quite expensive, I usually by my Lugana in full meters (well it’s 1,70 meters wide) and that might still be cheaper around here, but the difference is not so much and I wanted to try the magic guide. Donna from Cross Stitch Heaven sells the fabric precut even for large designs! So it was more than easy to get a fitting piece to try this =)

 

Anyway, here is how this will hopefully look like one day:

middleearth

And here is what I have so far, first page is half way done, nearly 4000 stitches in:

IMG_0805

I somehow have the feeling that this will take a while to complete……

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pulltheotherthread
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 21:38:01

    Great new start. Glad to see you back in blogland again. Hope all is well for you. That’s a monster sized project, lots of fun stitching times ahead.

    Reply

  2. Kaelyn Angelfoot
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 21:45:27

    oh my gosh, that one is on my WishList and yours is looking great! I’m excited to follow along.

    Reply

  3. Samantha Long
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 09:31:13

    That’s a great new start! I have quite a few massive charts, but not brave enough to start any of them! I’m interested to see how this goes for you. x

    Reply

  4. thecraftyprincess25
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 09:55:03

    Brilliant new start Johanna. It’s an awesome design and it’s great that you are enjoying it which is all that matters in the end. Whoa mamma that’s a big one but it will be well worth it. xo Alicia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

